Jizo, the patron saint of travellers and the weak, is their protector. It was created in Japan and portrays a Bosatsu (Bodhisattva). This is someone who has attained enlightenment yet refuses to enter Nirvana. By remaining in this life, they will be able to guide others to enlightenment. It represents a monk collecting merit for … Read more

Garuda Lion

The Garuda Lion is the offspring of a marriage between a lion and the Garuda bird, a celestial competitor. It has eight limbs, four from the lion and four from the Garuda’s talons at the knees. The Garuda Lion is a symbol of the marriage of the sky and the earth.

Fish Otter

The Garuda lion, fish-otter, and makara conch are the Three Victorious Creatures of Harmony. These were mostly utilized as a victory symbol. These creatures are thought to have been created by the mating of animals that had historically been antagonistic to one another (i.e. predator-prey).

Garuda – Half Bird Half Human

The garuda is one of the Four Dignities in Tibetan Buddhism, which are creatures that reflect bodhisattva attributes. The four creatures are the dragon, which symbolizes power, the tiger, which symbolizes confidence, the snow lion, which symbolizes fearlessness, and the garuda, which symbolizes knowledge.

Kirtimukha – The Face of Glory

Kirtimukha literally means “glorious face.” In all religions, it is the most common motif in South and Southeast Asian art and architecture. Kirtimukha is primarily a significant threshold guardian. This face sign is currently utilized widely in Hindu, Buddhist, and Jain practices.

The Vajra

The Vajra is a Buddhist tantric emblem that represents enormous spiritual strength and spiritual stability. It represents Vajrayana, one of Buddhism’s three primary streams. The Vajra, which is shaped like a club with ribbed spherical heads, represents the qualities of a diamond (purity and indestructibility) as well as the properties of a thunderbolt (irresistible energy). … Read more

Buddha Eyes 

This pair of eyes, also known as Wisdom Eyes, is commonly depicted on all four sides of Buddhist sanctuaries known as Stupas. The emblem represents Buddha’s all-seeing and omniscient eyes, as well as the Lord’s all-pervasive presence. The curly line below the eyes in the middle (where the nose is on a face) is the … Read more

The Eight Auspicious Symbols

or (Ashtamangala) is a revered set of Eight Auspicious Signs found in Hinduism, Jainism, Buddhism, and Sikhism, among other Dharmic Traditions. Yidam and teaching tools are the symbols or’symbolic qualities.’ These traits, these energetic signatures, not only signpost to enlightened mindstream qualities, but they are also the adornment that adorns these enlightened ‘qualities.’ There are … Read more